Interview: Molly Hanley – Part II

I hope that everyone enjoyed the first part of the interview with Molly!  And as promised, there is a lot to this talented young woman.  And Part II has even more in store!!  Read on and enjoy.  And don’t forget to share the link to this blog with others!  Comments are also always appreciated.  And tons more great stuff coming soon!!

Photo by Mark Brosius

So I recently learned in addition to everything already mentioned, you are also a recording artist. Tell me a little about this… how long have you been creating music? What got you into it?

Oh my, I’ve been singing forever. My dad plays guitar and has always had some kind of band and he had me sing with him growing up. When I was starting out singing it was all oldies and stuff he played, like Jim Croce, Carole King, Van Morrison, Eric Clapton, Dan Fogelberg, etc. So my dad definitely influenced me. I’ve just always loved music and lyrics. Words can be so powerful.

Then as I got older, I fell in love with soul music, then R&B, followed by rap/hip-hop/pop. Let’s just say the areas I stayed in, where the majority of my friends were, I was a minority, and I loved it. I began rapping too. Don’t laugh. Not many people believe me when I say that, I get discredited before people hear me because I’m a blonde haired, blue eyed, Caucasian female. When they hear me, they usually start taking me more seriously. I’m not trying to be the female Eminem or whatever, but you will hear me rap time to time in my music, I sing more often though.

How would you describe your musical style?

I love all kinds of music. I’ll sing anything. What I have been recording is what I like to call ‘hip-pop’. It’s a mix of pop, hip-hop, rap, and R&B. I want to be the next Fergie 🙂

Where can people hear your music?

They can’t quite yet. I’m still working on projects. I will be featured on a compilation album produced by Ronnie “Chico” DiCicco, called “Strip Club” which should be released sometime this fall (I’ll keep you updated) which will premiere my first single, ‘Boy Toy’. You will be able to purchase the single/album on iTunes when it drops.

____________

I spoke with Ronnie “Chico” DiCicco briefly for this interview as well.  Chico is a a Multi Billboard Hit Remixer/Producer/Songwriter/Artist.
 The short list of his credits include: Lady Antebellum, Jason Derulo, Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Hilary Duff, Britney Spears, Ke$ha, We the Kings, Demi Lovato, and Selena Gomez.  “Most “Local” artists are automatically viewed as nothing less than just that….local,” said DiCicco.  “I think some of this info will help adding some color and legitimacy along with the scope of Molly’s first single.”

When asked to describe this project with Molly, Chico provided some additional insights.  The album strip club is set to be released nationally and world wide via iTunes, Beat Port, Master Beat and a few other digital outlets. The album is a various artist/compilation album that has several names attached, including Taya Parker VH1 Reality Star from Bret Michaels Rock of Love and former Bret Michaels girlfriends as well as Pent House Pet of the year. Play Boy Model Tali De’Mar who will be appearing in a new Sundance Reality Show and Performer of the Year/Miss Exotic U.S.A. Model and Playboy TV personality has 2 songs on the album.

According to Chico, the album “is a strong mesh of Electro/Hip Hop/Rock and Dance. Major Club tracks with automatic crossover and radio potential.”  In describing “Boy Toy”  he said it “is a fun sexy empowering song that reflects Black Eyed Peas meets Planet Rock yet maintains it’s own originality, lyrically and sonically. The single is set to be the 4th song released individually from the album. There’s a lot to be said about the music industry. Most just don’t understand the how’s the why’s or aren’t willing to make the sacrifice to find out.

You can learn more about Chico, with RMG Music Group/Dirty White Boy/Degenerate Records 
at www.myspace.com/rizzone

Any major accomplishments on this front that you would like to share?

Just deciding to pursue this dream I feel is a major accomplishment. It’s a scary thing to do! All my friends went off to college, I never even applied to one. I knew it wasn’t for me. I belong in the entertainment industry, whether it’s in front of or behind the camera. Better to start to establish yourself young, right? I work with so many talented people, and I’m proud of every project I do, because I give each one everything I’ve got. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to my craft(s). It’s a blessing and a curse! When I do anything, I make sure I do it well. 🙂

In addition to all of that, I read online that you also have been a dancer for 15 years. Anything you don’t do? So tell me about how dance factors into all of these other talents.

I do it all! I’m tellin ya! 🙂 I danced with two different studios growing up. I started out with tumbling, gymnastics, ballet, jazz, tap, hip-hop, and lyrical before I decided to stick with hip-hop for good (which was my primary class for a good 6 or so years). Give me a bass line and a break-beat and I’m happy. When I start performing my music, this should definitely come in handy!

Photo by Mark Brosius

In which of these three areas (modeling, makeup, dance, or music) are you the most passionate? Why?

I’m passionate about everything I do. Living in general. I don’t think I can pick just one. Music, makeup, and acting come before modeling though. I am passionate about evoking emotion and passion from others, and I feel I can achieve that through all faucets of my work! I love to entertain.

Do you plan on pursuing the above mentioned pathway further in the coming years? If so, how?

Yes, my main focus right now is music. I may still attend makeup school to learn more about prosthetics and special effects in the future. I love recording, writing/arranging songs though and I’ve been given so many coincidental opportunities lately that I feel like something is supposed to happen for me with music. I believe that everything happens for a reason, whether or not you ever realize what the reason is.

Any tips for others that wish to pursue a pathway in one of the many that you have taken in life (ie music, makeup, modeling, etc?)

Network! You can never know too many people. Listen! You don’t know it all, regardless how experienced you think you are, you will always benefit from listening to others who have been there, done that. DO YOU! Don’t try to be someone you’re not, for anyone. It won’t end well because you can only pretend for so long. Keep an open mind! This goes for life as well as career. Believe in YOU! If you don’t, no one else will.

Lastly, take criticism, without being hard on yourself. Positive or negative. Use the positive as a reminder that your efforts are meaningful and appreciated, and the negative as fuel to grow, become better and prove yourself. Always remain humble. Humility will work wonders for you.

Any future plans or goals?

I would like to move to Los Angeles sooner than later because that’s where the industry is. I have too many goals to name. But I’m sure you can imagine what they are 🙂

If you could be the opening music act for any performer/group right now, who would it be and why?

Wow! There are so many artists I would love to open for… probably Lady GaGa or Lil Wayne. I love them both. Their passion and energy is so inspiring. They know how to work a crowd and put on a show.

